C2C Certified™

The Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Product Standard, administered by the Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute, provides a continuous improvement pathway towards the development of quality following Cradle to Cradle® requirements. Therefore the materials and manufacturing processes of each product are comprehensively assessed in five categories:

  • Material Health
  • Material Reutilization
  • Renewable Energy and Carbon Management
  • Water Stewardship
  • Social Fairness

A product receives an achievement level in each category — Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum — with the lowest achievement level representing the product’s overall mark. The chart below is an example of a product scorecard:

Product assessments are performed by a qualified independent organization trained by the Institute following the Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Product Standard. Assessment Summary Reports are reviewed by the Institute, which certifies products meeting the Standard requirements, and licenses the use of the Cradle to Cradle Certified™ word and design marks to the product manufacturer. Every two years, manufacturers must demonstrate good faith efforts to improve their products in order to have their products recertified.

Material Health Certificate: The Material Health Certificate is awarded to products assessed against the requirements in the Material Health category of the Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Product Standard. The achievement levels reach from Bronze to Platinum. A Material Health Certificate does not indicate that a product is Cradle to Cradle Certified™, which requires assessment against all five Standard categories.

You can find more information about the Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Certification and the Material Health Certifcate here (International), and here (Netherlands).